Hazard Mitigation

Mitigation significantly reduces or permanently eliminates future risk to lives and property from natural hazards, by community planning and implementing projects.  The purpose of hazard mitigation assistance is to reduce the impact of life and property due to natural disasters and develop resilient communities by planning and projects.  Per the Stafford Act, states must have an approved plan to be eligible for public assistance and hazard mitigation assistance.  The Minnesota All-Hazard Mitigation Plan requires local mitigation plans, approved by FEMA, from counties, cities, other government units and private non-profits to be eligible for hazard mitigation assistance funding.

The process for developing an All- Hazard Mitigation Plan typically includes:

1) organizing resources;
2) hazard identification;
3) risk assessment;
4) structural vulnerability;
5) capability assessment;
6) mitigation actions;
7) plan maintenance.

Plans must be approved by FEMA and typically have a five year life cycle.

With financial support from FEMA through the MN Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, the ECRDC has been able to assist Isanti, Kanabec, and Mille Lacs County in the development of these plans.